Car Show

By: News Release
Jul 22nd, 2018

The McGregor Achievement Club

Press Release for the 2018 Great River Car Show & Cruise Award Winners

Held on Sat. July 21, 2018

There were a total of 68 car show entrants. Listed below is the winner's name & town for trophies in each category along with their vehicle entered.

Classic Car (1st, 2nd & 3rd Places)

  1. Gene Fabert, Independence, MO with a 1960 Chevy El Camino

  2. Kim Meyer, Castalia with a 1955 Ford Crown Vic

  3. Robert (Chopper) Thornton, McGregor, 1956 Chevy Handyman Wagon

Antique Car

  1. Jerry Tayek, Monona , 1930 Ford A Coupe

  2. Rod & Deb Aspenson, Mt. Sterling, WI, 1915 Ford Model T


  1. Ed Parker, Monona, 1972 Chevy El Camino Super Sport

  2. Tom Weighner, Dorchester, 1987 Dodge Ram Charger

Special Interest

  1. Chuck Larson, Elgin, 1954 Mercury Monteray

  2. Randy Miller, Elgin, 1964 Ford Falcon

  3. Bobby Slaughter, McGregor, 2016 Mercedes Benz Mini Rod

Muscle Car

  1. Joel Ames, Lancaster, WI, 1967 Ford Mustang

  2. Dick Burroughs, Guttenberg, 2010 Ford Roush Mustang

  3. Dave Sperfslage, Winthrop, 1969 Ford Mustang

Street Rod

  1. Sue & Al Hoeger, PDC, 1937 Chevy 4-door

  2. Randy Thornton, Marquette, IA, 1936 Hudson Terraplane

  3. Rick Abbott, Waukon, 1948 Pontiac Streamliner

Sports Car

  1. Morris Weller, McGregor, 2009 Chevy Corvette Z06

  2. Carl Peterson, Platteville, WI, 1984 Mercedes Benz 380 SL

  3. Andrea Strand, Decorah, 1993 Dodge Daytona

Late Model

  1. Gary Lenth, Monona, 1976 Pontiac Firebird

  2. Phil Schubert, Guttenberg, 2007 Ford Mustang

  3. Kevin Lind, McGregor, 2008 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500


  1. Brad Jahnke, PDC, 1964 Volkswagon Double Cab

  2. John Fassbinder, 1970 Mercedes 280 SE

McGregor Mayor’s Choice – A 1956 Chevy Handyman Wagon entered by Robert

(Chopper) Thornton

Marquette Mayor’s Choice - A 1955 Ford Crown Vic by Kim Meyer of Castalia

People’s Choice (selected by the public)

1960 Chevy El Camino entered by Gene Fabert of Independence, MO

Farthest Entrant was Ron Fabert from Lee’s Summit, MO approximately 450 miles received a $25.00 gift card donated by Kwik Star

Main Raffle Winners:

Grand Prize – Maiden Voyage Boat Tour (up to 25-people 3-hr cruise) – Morris Weller

1st Prize – 2 night stay At Maggie’s Bed and Bath – Dwayne Fabert

2nd Prize – 1 night stay a the River District Hotel – Jenny Tayek

3rd Prize – 2 buffets & a Jan & Dean Concert Party at the Diamond Jo – Tim Sautter

38 total raffle prizes were handed out from various sponsors. We’d like to thank all our sponsors for their donations and sponsorships.