Bergan Report

By: News Release
Apr 6th, 2018

immigration authorities. Nearly all communities are already doing so and this bill ensures that cooperation continues. The bill is designed to only impact individuals who have been arrested for serious crimes. Cities or counties that intentionally refuse to work with federal authorities, to remove dangerous criminals from their communities, put citizens at risk by providing a safe haven to potentially violent individuals who have willingly broken the law. I did not vote for the final bill. While amendments did improve the bill’s application to local law enforcement, I agreed with Sheriff Dan Marx’s opposition and concern of potential unexpected adverse consequences. Governor Reynolds Signs Future Ready Iowa Act Gov. Kim Reynolds signed House File 2458, the Future Ready Iowa Act, on Tuesday at the Future Ready Iowa Summit in Des Moines. Future Ready Iowa is the Governor’s plan to train Iowans for the jobs of today and tomorrow. The goal of Future Ready Iowa is 70 percent of Iowa workers having education or training beyond high school by 2025. In order to reach that goal, another 127,700 Iowans need to earn post-secondary degrees or other credentials. This bill changes lives by helping Iowans earn credentials that prepare them for rewarding careers in advanced manufacturing, computer science, finance, health care and many other fields. It also helps employers hire the skilled workers they need to grow, which means Iowa communities will be even more prosperous. The governor called on the legislature to pass the Future Ready Iowa Act in her Condition of the State address in January. The bill passed both the Iowa House and Iowa Senate with unanimous, bipartisan support. It passed the Iowa House on March 13, 98-0 and the Iowa Senate on March 19, 47-0. Anticipation is increasing as to our ending date for the session. April 17 th is the scheduled 100 th day. Expectations are for two more weeks to complete our budget work. Very truly yours, Representative Michael Bergan House District 55, portions of Clayton, Fayette, and Winneshiek Counties