Postville Board

By: KCTN News
Feb 13th, 2018

President Smith called the regular meeting of the Postville Board of Education to order at 6:29 P.M. on Monday, February 12, 2018, with the following members present: Jeff, Cox, Tony Gericke, JoAnn Jacobs, Staci Malcom.

President Smith welcomed the visitors.

Motion by Cox to approve the agenda, second by Jacobs. Carried unanimously.

Motion by Jacobs, second by Malcom, to remove item D from the consent agenda and approve remaining items.  Carried unanimously.
a. Approve of the February 12, 2018, Regular Meeting Minutes
b. Approve the monthly invoices (reviewed by Staci Malcom)
c. Approve the hire of Elizabeth Crawford/After School Tutor; Kirsten Richardson/After School Coordinator
e. Approve the transfer of Luke Steege to 7-12 At-Risk/Athletic Director (Aug 2018); Donna Green/Preschool Paraprofessional
f. Acceptance of Donations/Gifts to the District
1. Club of the Hour - $175.00 – Milk Fund/Nursing Supplies
2. ILNorplex, Inc.- $2,500.00 - STEM

Two resignations were added to Item D of the consent agenda. Motion by Malcom, second by Cox, to approve the resignation of Diane Engen/21st Century Grant Site Coordinator; Annette Deering/Lunch Room Computer Para; Danielle Bucknell/ Elementary Teacher; Laurie Adrian/Elementary Teacher.  Carried unanimously.

Superintendent Dugger shared information about the PERL vote that was unsuccessful.  Information was shared from the 2017 fiscal audit.

Principal Zurbriggen, with the assistance of Marcy Kraus, shared the results of elementary FAST Testing.

Curriculum Director/Dean of Students Schutte shared information and requested volunteers to assist with the Poverty Simulation hosted by Postville CSD, on Monday, February 26th, and the YMCA building.

Jenny Schutte, Dani Rose, RJ Olsen, and LaRae Schutte shared information on the Differentiated Accountability Model and reviewed items from the recent Department of Education Site Visit.

President Smith opened the public hearing for the 2018 elementary building improvement projects at 7:12 pm.    No public comments were presented.  The public hearing was closed at 7:13 pm.

The acceptance of the 2018 elementary building improvement project was tabled until March.

Motion by Cox, second by Gericke, to Resolve to Approve the Purchase of the Real Property Owned by the City of Postville under a Purchase Agreement for the Building located at 204 S. Odgen St., approving the assignment, assumption, and release of USDA Grant Agreement, approving the termination of a 28E and Lease agreement with the City of Postville, and approving a lease agreement with Postville Child Care Services, Inc.  Roll was called, 5 ayes, 0 nays, motion carried.

Motion by Gericke, second by Jacobs, to resolve for inter-fund loan between the general fund and the capital projects fund for above purchase.  Roll was called, 5 ayes, 0 nays, motion passed.

Motion by Cox, second by Gericke, to approve the upgrade thermostats in the John Mott Building (summer 2018). Carried unanimously.

Motion by Malcom, second by Gericke, to approve a cabling upgrade for the Cora B. Darling Elementary School (summer 2018).  Carried unanimously.

Motion by Gericke, second by Malcom, to approve access point upgrades (summer 2018).  Carried unanimously.

Discussion-Jr. High School Split Athletic Season.  Further discussion will take place at a later date.

Motion by Gericke, second by Jacobs, to move to closed session under Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a) to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential or to confidential as a condition for the government body’s possession or continued receipt of federal funds.  Roll was called, 5 ayes, 0 nays. Motion carried.

Motion by Gericke, second by Malcom, to approve an open enrollment request out of district presented.  Motions carries.

Items for the March Board Meeting are:
2018 Summer Elementary Construction Project
Jr. High Split Athletic Season

The March Board Meeting for the Postville Board of Education will be held on March 12, 2018, at 6:30 P.M, at the Postville Fine Arts Center Lobby.

Motion by Cox, second by Jacobs, to adjourn the meeting at 8:12 P.M.  Carried unanimously.